My Second Year!


Hurray, the second year for my hive has started!  Soon I’ll go check up on my hive and see if I need to start feeding them or anything.  Before I do that though, I’ve decided to invest in a couple more things for my hive.  First,  I definitely want to get a screened bottom board.  As you may remember I a couple problems with ventilation last year.  Now, I want to deal with that by getting a screened bottom board.  Hopefully this will help my hive not get Varroa Mites.  The second thing I want to get is a top feeder.  Last year I just had a frame feeder.  There was nothing wrong with it, we just had to go out almost every week and get into the hive to refill it.  This year, with a top, we can put more in and not have to get into the hive to refill it.  I also have to invest in a couple more supers so that I can build higher.

I will probably get these from Mann Lake.  They seem to work pretty well.

By the way,  If anyone knows of any good plants that I can plant (Flowers, Vegetables, Fruits, etc…) Please tell me.

Leave a Reply

